The List

Back when I published this post, I said I would begin to build a list of what I love about life.  A strange variety of objects, images, and moments have found their way onto that list in the months since, so perhaps it is time they had a blog post of their own:

I love the way light dazzles off of water droplets on a window.

I love how the brown sugar on my bowl of Wheat Chex melts away when milk is poured over it.

I love when my brain finally decides to grant my body a night of dreamless sleep (this is rare).  On these nights, I embrace the much-needed respite from thought, conscious or otherwise, and relinquish all sense of time or place.  I love the feeling of being cocooned in sheets, which leads me to wonder: if I were a caterpillar, would I trade a future existence as a butterfly if I were given the opportunity to remain in my cozy cocoon forever?  

I love watching people grow up.

I LOVE stories.  I fully believe that “story-truth is truer sometimes than happening-truth,” as Tim O’Brien wrote.

I love music – love it in a desperate way, as if there is some song or album out there that would actually change my life, if I could only find it.  Or as if my favorite songs will cease to exist if I forget to listen to them for a while.  I love the way lyrics like “You are in the sea beside me” make my heart rise into my throat.  I love hearing my siblings whistle the guitar riff from “Do I Wanna Know?” while they wash dishes.  I love when my mom tries to describe what “In the Air Tonight” sounded like with Phil Collins playing that drum fill at a live concert.  

I love the final words of A Tale of Two Cities.  

I love raspberries.  To me, they are the adorably pudgy toddlers of the fruit world.  I love the color “raspberry red.”  I love the tiny yellow fuzz that you can see sticking out crazily from the berries’ surface when you look closely.  

I love the feeling of a car driving on and on underneath me as I doze off in the passenger seat.  

I love TV shows that make me laugh out loud, even if I happen to be watching them by myself…

I love the warmth that comes from holding a small baby and feeling its hiccupy breathing.

I love my chaotic mental reading technique: seeing all the words at once, recognizing them immediately, calling up visual associations in milliseconds, reading forwards and backwards like an oscillating spring, so that by the time I reach the last sentence, I have already perceived its words several times but am just now adding them to the context of what came before.

I love walking just to walk, biking just to bike, or driving just to drive.  Rollerblading, too!

I love questions that are driven by the purest curiosity and rooted in a desire to learn – the questions that evince both the hope that some things can be truly known and the ability to accept those that must remain a mystery.

And now I wonder: what do you love about life?

-Cassie

8 thoughts on “The List

  1. I love the way you described your love for music as “desperate.” I feel the same way, too. And music has changed my life…more than once.

    That drum fill gets me every single time, btw.

    • Thanks Mark! You know, I’m starting to realize that if any music or album is going to change my life, it’s going to be from the Arctic Monkeys. Care to share the artists who have changed yours? Besides Phil Collins, of course

      • Elvis, for waking me up to rock ‘n roll. The Beatles, for showing me that music could evolve and embrace various philosophies while still remaining true to the artists’ vision. Bruce Springsteen, whose music made me appreciate the plight of hard working Americans trying in vain to achieve the American dream. And Nirvana, for proving that even underdogs can succeed if circumstances are just right.

    • Thank you Jasyn! I’m long overdue for another post – there’s an idea in the works, but we’ll see how long it takes for me to flesh it out.

      Thanks for commenting with what you love, too! Any recommendations to share? I’m reading The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion and it’s stunning.

      • Well I can’t wait to read it! I’m pretty much strictly a Fantasy reader, and there are so many good ones I’ve read recently. I’d have to say The Name of the Wind is still my favorite. I’m reading a really witty series right now though. I just looked up The Year of Magical Thinking and it looks like a really good book. My goal this year is 50 books, so I’ll add it!

Leave a Reply

